Editing Tasks


Action Buttons

When you want to edit or perform actions on a task, single-press it so that it becomes highlighted (yellow in the light color theme, red in the dark theme). With a task selected, several action buttons appear near the bottom of the screen. If you single-press a task again, it will unselect that task.


The first two buttons will unindent and indent a task, respectively. If the list is sorted by anything other than Custom Order, these buttons will be inactive, since indenting is only possible with Custom Order.

The third button, with an arrow and plus sign, will create a subtask under the selected parent task. There's more information on subtasks on the Creating Tasks page.

The fourth button, with a trash icon, will delete the task that is currently selected. Subtasks of the deleted task will not be deleted, but will be unindented one level.

The last button opens the task details screen.

Task details screen

This screen contains all the fields of a task, and allows you to perform actions that only affect a single task. 


The task name textbox is at the top of the screen. This field is the most prominent part of a task.

The task notes field contains extra details about the task. If you place email addresses, phone numbers, and websites URLs in the notes, you can select them as links in the main screen when the task is highlighted. The notes are usually trimmed off in the main screen and widget, and may even be hidden completely.

The due date field is a single calendar date by which you want to have the task done. Use the red X button to clear the due date, which will also remove the reminder and repeat values from the task. You can change GTO's date format through the preferences menu.

The task reminder is a GTO-only field that causes Android to notify you at a specific time on or before the due date. If you add a reminder without having a due date set, it will default to today. When a reminder is triggered, visiting the task details screen will stop the reminder for that task from automatically repeating and triggering again. You can add any number of reminders to a task. You can customize reminder notifications on the reminder advanced page, or on the Reminders settings menu.

The task repeat is a GTO-only field that makes the task advance to a different due date when the task is completed. The repeat days defines how many days to skip when repeating. For example, if you want a task to occur every 2 weeks, you would enter "14" as the repeat days. The other options are to repeat every month or every year on the same day. The monthly and yearly options take into account the fact that months and years have varying lengths.
Repeat Week Days define which days of the week (Monday, Tuesday, etc) the repeat should apply to. When a task repeats, it will advance the due date by the number of repeat days specified, and then to the next valid week day. For example, if you have a task that repeats every 1 day and select Monday Wednesday Friday as the week days, then repeating that task will advance it from Monday to Wednesday to Friday, and then to the next Monday.
The repeat Automatic Rollover option causes a task to repeat itself, without you needing to mark the checkbox. You can still manually repeat a rollover task as normal. Every day at midnight, all repeating tasks that have Rollover enabled will be automatically advanced to their next due date. This is useful if you forget to mark tasks as completed, or just want to automate the process of repeating tasks. If the Rollover to Current Day option is enabled, then that task will ignore its repeat schedule and week days during an automatic rollover, and always rollover to today. Rollovers also update task reminders.
See the Repeat settings page for more options.

The repeat from completion date option specifies that a task should use the actual day of completion, rather than the current due date, when calculating the next due date.

The GTO-only fields can be synced to the server at the end of the notes field, if you enable the Sync Extras preference.

The list button allows you to move a task, along with all of its subtasks, to another list. If you change choose a different list, it will automatically close the task detail page and show the list you chose.

The completion checkbox will cause the task to be completed, repeated, or deleted, based on whether the task has a repeat and the Delete When Completed preference.

The delete button deletes the current task and return to the main screen. When you delete a task, GTO saves it in the local database. As long as you don't delete the associated account or uninstall GTO, you can recover your deleted tasks. Read about the Undelete Task option on the Tasks preference page.

Selecting the save button saves all the changes you made and returns to the main screen. Using the phone's back button has the same effect.

Quick-edit menu

When you long-press (press and hold) a task, several buttons will pop up, allowing you to change the individual task fields quickly without opening the task details screen.


Drag-and-drop

GTO allows you to move tasks up and down in the list by using a drag-and-drop handle. When a task is selected, the handle appears to the right of the task name. You can choose to also show the handle on unselected tasks with the Drag and Drop Handle preference.


Dragging a task in GTO works the same as in Google Tasks online: press and hold the drag handle, then move the task up or down in the list. If you drag to the top or bottom of the screen, the list will scroll up or down automatically.


The red line shows where the task will be located when it's dropped. When a task is moved, its subtasks will move along with it.