Accounts


GTO can sync with any number of accounts. It accepts any Google Tasks account, including GMail and Google Apps Domain accounts. Your accounts can be managed by the Android system, which includes handling your passwords (for more information, visit the GTO Security page), or they can be added directly to GTO. It is recommended that you only add an account directly to GTO if you cannot add it to the system settings for some reason (e.g. on devices that don't allow Google accounts, like the Amazon Kindle Fire).

Adding an account to the Android system settings

The method for adding an account to the system can vary between Android versions, but the following sequence is the most common.
  1. Open the system settings (the fastest way is to press the Home button, press the Menu button, then select Settings).
  2. Select Accounts or Accounts & Sync.
  3. Select Add Account.
  4. Select Google.
  5. Follow the instructions to login.

Importing a system account into GTO

  1. Open the GTO Menu.
  2. Select Settings > Edit Accounts.
  3. A list of all valid Google Tasks accounts will show up. Accounts that are already in GTO are checked, and other available accounts are unchecked.
  4. Select the checkbox next to your account.
  5. Android may ask for you to grant permission for GTO to manage your tasks. Select Yes (otherwise GTO won't be able to authenticate your account).
  6. If Android asks for your password, enter it. If you're using 2-step verification, your normal password might not work, and you'll need to follow the instructions on the FAQ page for 2-step verification.
Your account should begin syncing your lists and tasks immediately. If not, you can start a sync through the GTO Menu > Sync All.

Adding an account directly to GTO

  1. Open the GTO Menu.
  2. Select Settings > Edit Accounts.
  3. Select Add Account.
  4. A browser window should appear in front of GTO, with the standard Google login fields. Log in to your account as you normally would. Your login information is sent securely to Google's servers, and GTO does not interact with or store your password at all.
  5. After authenticating your account, you should see a notice that GTO is requesting permission to Manage your tasks (required for task syncing), View your email address, and Know who you are on Google (required so GTO knows which account to sync with). Select the blue Allow Access button.
  6. GTO should automatically begin syncing your lists and tasks. If not, you can manually sync through the GTO Menu > Sync All.

Deleting an account from GTO

If you delete an account from GTO, you will no longer have access to that account's lists or tasks from inside GTO. Any changes you made in GTO that haven't been synced to the server will be lost. This will not have any effect outside GTO - all your lists and tasks will remain unchanged on the Google Tasks servers, which means you can import your account into GTO again in the future.
  1. Open the GTO Menu.
  2. Select Edit Accounts (or More > Edit Accounts).
  3. A list of all valid Google Tasks accounts will show up. Accounts that are already in GTO are checked, and other available accounts are unchecked.
  4. Uncheck the checkbox next to the account you want to delete.
  5. Select Delete.

Offline account

There is one account in GTO that is never synced to a server - the Offline Tasks account. This account is used by GTO in the rare case that a fatal error occurs when creating a task or list, and the local copy can't be associated with the server copy. If this ever happens, the list or task will be moved to the offline account. For this reason, this account cannot be deleted from GTO, but it is hidden by default.

If you'd like to create a task that only exists on your phone and never gets synced, you can unhide the offline lists (any list associated with the offline account) through the Preferences > Lists menu. The Offline List, and any other list in the Offline Tasks account, will then show up as a normal list.

If you're using an offline list and decide you want to make it sync to the server, follow these steps:
  1. First, make sure there is another list in the Offline Tasks account. There needs to be at least 1 offline list, though it can be named anything. If this is the only offline list, create a new list with a different name and link it to the Offline Tasks account.
  2. Open the GTO Menu and select Edit Lists.
  3. Select the list you want to start syncing.
  4. Use the account button in the lower-right corner to choose another account.
  5. Select Save, and wait for the transfer to complete (this may take a few seconds, during which GTO might appear frozen).
  6. Your list will now sync to the server like a normal list.